Who won the California Young Reader Medal?

Who won the California Young Reader Medal?

Gordon Korman
Date: October 22-23, 2021. California Reading Association: CRA is hosting a virtual conference on October 22-23, 2021. The CYRM 2021 winner in the Intermediate category is Gordon Korman.

What is the Nevada Young Reader Award?

Presented by the Nevada Library Association, the Nevada Young Readers’ Awards honor extraordinary books intended for readers from kindergarten to twelfth grade. Each year, students in the state of Nevada recommend and vote for winners in four categories: Picture Books, Young Readers, Intermediate, and Young Adult.

Why is there a horse on the Caldecott Medal?

This medal is to be given to the artist who had created the most distinguished picture book of the year and named in honor of the nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph J. Caldecott.

Who has won the most Caldecott medals?

author Marcia Brown
Illustrator and author Marcia Brown is the most recognized Caldecott illustrator having won three medals and having six honor books….

Caldecott Medal

What book won the 2020 Caldecott Medal?

The Undefeated
Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children: “The Undefeated,” illustrated by Kadir Nelson is the 2020 Caldecott Medal winner. The book was written by Kwame Alexander and published by Versify, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

What children’s book won the Caldecott in 1970?

1970 winner: Illustrated by William Steig. Published by Windmill Books. In a moment of fright, Sylvester the donkey asks his magic pebble to turn him into a rock but then can not hold the pebble to wish himself back to normal again.

What children’s book won the Caldecott Medal?

2020 – The Undefeated by Kwame Alexander, illustrated by Kadir Nelson. 2019 – Hello Lighthouse by Sophie Blackall. 2018 – Wolf in the Snow by Matthew Cordell. 2017 – Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat by Javaka Steptoe.

What children’s book received the Caldecott Medal last year?

Last year, the Caldecott Medal went to We Are Water Protectors illustrated by Michaela Goade and written by Carole Lindstrom.

Who won the Caldecott award 2020?

LeUyen PhamCaldecott Medal
Kadir NelsonCaldecott MedalDaniel MinterCaldecott MedalJerry CraftJohn Newbery MedalKevin HenkesChildren’s Literature Legacy Award
2020 ALA Youth Media Awards/Winners

How do you win the Caldecott Medal?


  1. Excellence of execution in the artistic technique employed;
  2. Excellence of pictorial interpretation of story, theme, or concept;
  3. Appropriateness of style of illustration to the story, theme or concept;
  4. Delineation of plot, theme, characters, setting, mood or information through the pictures;

Who has won the Newbery Medal?

Donna Barba Higuera
Darcie Little BadgerAndrea WangRajani LaRoccaKyle Lukoff
John Newbery Medal/Winners (2022)