Who won the 2012 World Twenty20 cricket tournament?

Who won the 2012 World Twenty20 cricket tournament?

The 2012 ICC World Twenty20 was the fourth ICC World Twenty20 competition, an international Twenty20 cricket tournament that took place in Sri Lanka from 18 September to 7 October 2012 which was won by the West Indies.

When were the 2012 World Twenty20 fixtures announced by ICC?

Match fixtures were announced on 21 September 2011 by ICC. On the same date, the ICC also unveiled the logo of the tournament, named “Modern Spin”. The 2012 World Twenty20 is the fourth edition of the Twenty20 tournament. The first was hosted by South Africa in 2007, where India beat Pakistan in a thriller to become Twenty20 champions.

Which country hosted the First World T20 World Cup in 2007?

The first was hosted by South Africa in 2007, where India beat Pakistan in a thriller to become Twenty20 champions. Pakistan, the losing finalists in 2007, defeated Sri Lanka in 2009 tournament to become World T20 Champions, held in England.

What is the format of the 2010 World Twenty20 cricket tournament?

In 2010 England became the third World Twenty20 champions by beating Australia in the West Indies. The format is the same as the 2010 edition. The format has four groups of three in a preliminary round, groups A-D.

The fourth tournament, the 2012 World Twenty20, was held in Asia for the first time, with all matches played in Sri Lanka. The West Indies won the tournament by defeating Sri Lanka in the final, winning its first international tournament since the 2004 Champions Trophy.

What is the abbreviation for ICC men’s T20 World Cup?

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup (earlier known as ICC World Twenty20) is the international championship of Twenty20 International cricket.

How many times has the World Twenty20 been won?

Six tournaments have so far been played, and only the West Indies, who currently hold the title, has won the tournament on multiple occasions. The inaugural 2007 World Twenty20, was staged in South Africa, and won by India, who defeated Pakistan in the final at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

How many teams are in the next T20 World Cup?

The four T20 World Cup tournaments in 2024, 2026, 2028, and 2030 will be expanded to include 20 teams, ICC’s official press release said. In July 2020, the ICC announced that both the 2020 and 2021 editions had each been postponed by one year due to the pandemic.

When was the 2012 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup held?

The 2012 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup was a one-day cricket competition for sixteen international U-19 cricketing teams which was held in August 2012. This was the ninth time that the tournament was held since its inception back in 1988.

How many countries qualified for the 2012 Cricket World Cup?

Ten further teams competed in the qualifying event which was held in Ireland with only the top six teams qualifying through to the 2012 World Cup. Scotland (winners), Nepal, Ireland, Afghanistan, Papua New Guinea and Namibia all finished in the top 6 to book their spot into the World Cup.

How many teams are in the 2012 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier?

In addition to the ten test cricket playing nations, there are two associate/affiliate teams who qualified from the 2012 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier staged in the United Arab Emirates on 13–14 March 2012. The top two teams from each group A-D proceed to the Super Eight stage of the tournament.