Who is the current Ganden Tripa?

Who is the current Ganden Tripa?

Jangtse Choejey Kyabje Jetsun Lobsang Tenzin Palsangpo
Jangtse Choejey Kyabje Jetsun Lobsang Tenzin Palsangpo is the current Ganden Tripa. The head of the Gelugpa order is the Ganden Tripa and not, as is often misunderstood, the Dalai Lama. It is also often misunderstood that the Ganden Tripa is the same person as the abbot of Ganden monastery.

Who is the head of Gelug?

Administration and lineage The lineage is still held by the present holder is Thubten Nyima Lungtok Tenzin Norbu, the 102nd Ganden Tripa (and not, as often misunderstood, by the Dalai Lama).

Do Tibetan monks believe in reincarnation?

What does reincarnation – taking rebirth after death – mean under Buddhism? Tibetan Buddhism holds that there are two ways that someone can take rebirth after death. The first is to be reborn involuntarily, under the sway of ‘karma’, drawn back to life by destructive emotions and desires.

How does someone become a Rinpoche?

After death comes for a rinpoche — a Tibetan Buddhist spiritual leader, imbued with supernatural powers — he or she may choose to reincarnate as an infant. Belief dictates that once these children grow old enough to speak, they provide clues to prove their past identity and begin to summon disciples.

What is karma in Buddhism?

In the Buddhist tradition, karma refers to action driven by intention (cetanā) which leads to future consequences. Those intentions are considered to be the determining factor in the kind of rebirth in samsara, the cycle of rebirth.

Who is His Holiness the Ganden Tripa?

His Holiness the Ganden Tripa also known as the Ganden Tri Rinpoche or Trichen Rinpoche is the supreme head of the Gelug School of Tibetan Buddhism and successor to the King of Dharma Je Tsongkhapa. It is often misunderstood that the Dalai Lama is the head of the Gelugpa tradition of Tibetan Buddhism.

Who is the 101st Ganden Tripa of Tibetan Buddhism?

The lineage has been held by the Ganden Tripas. In January 2003, the Central Tibetan Administration announced the nomination of the 101st Ganden Tripa. An excerpt from that press release gives his background: The 101st Ganden Tripa, Khensur Lungri Namgyel Rinpoche was born in 1927 in Kham (eastern Tibet).

Who is the current Ganden Tripa of Bhutan?

The 103rd Ganden Tripa, Jetsun Lobsang Tenzin died in office on 21 April 2017. Jangtse Choejey Kyabje Jetsun Lobsang Tenzin Palsangpo is the current Ganden Tripa.

Is the Ganden Tripa a reincarnation lineage?

The Ganden Tripa is an appointed office, not a reincarnation lineage. It is awarded on the basis of merit which is the basis of his hierarchical progression. Since the position is held for only a 7-year term, there have been many more Ganden Tripas than Dalai Lamas to date (102 as against 14).