What was the main reason for the Surat split of 1907?

What was the main reason for the Surat split of 1907?

In Surat Session (1907), The Radicals or Extremists wanted Rai or Tilak as a presidential candidate, and Moderates supported Ghosh to be the President. But Rai stepped down and Ghosh became the President. The colonial authorities immediately clamped down on the extremists and their newspapers were suppressed.

Who was the president of Congress in 1907?

The pre-independence era (1901–1947)

No. Year(s) of Presidency Name
21 1905 Gopal Krishna Gokhale
22 1906 Dadabhai Naoroji
23 1907 Rashbihari Ghosh
24 1908 Rashbihari Ghosh

What is Surat split Upsc?

Ans. The Surat Split was the splitting of the Indian National Congress into two groups – the Extremists and the Moderates – at the Surat session in 1907.

Who were moderates Class 5?

The Early Nationalists, also known as the Moderates, were a group of political leaders in India active between 1885 and 1907. Their emergence marked the beginning of the organised national movement in India. Some of the important moderate leaders were Pherozeshah Mehta and Dadabhai Naoroji.

Who is known as father of assertive nationalism?

Bal Gangadhar Tilak is known as the father of assertive nationalism.

Who presided over 1907 Congress session in Surat on the bank of river Tapi?

Dr. Rash Behari Ghosh
The 1907 Surat session was held at the bank of the Tapti river in Surat. The Extremist camp was led by Lal Bal and Pal and the moderate camp was led by Gopal Krishna Gokhle. The Surat session was presided by Dr. Rash Behari Ghosh.

Who was called the father of Indian National Congress?

Allan Octavian Hume, C.B. : “father of the Indian National Congress,” 1892 to 1912 | National Library of Australia.

Who are moderate leaders?

Important moderate leaders were, K.T. Telang, Gopal Krishna Gokhale, Feroz Shah Mehta, R.M.Shawney, A.M.Dharamsi, Badruddin Tayabji, W.C. Banerjee, Dada Bhai Naoroji, George Yule, S.N Banerjee, Anand Mohan Bose, Henry Cotton, Rahmat Ullah Sayani, C. Shankaran Aiyar , Lal Mohan Ghosh, besides many others.

Who is the leader of Moderates?