What are the largest marine mammals?

What are the largest marine mammals?

In size, marine mammals range from small seals and porpoises to the largest animal that has ever lived, the blue whale.

Is a whale a marine mammal?

Marine mammals are classified into four different taxonomic groups: cetaceans (whales, dolphins, and porpoises), pinnipeds (seals, sea lions, and walruses), sirenians (manatees and dugongs), and marine fissipeds (polar bears and sea otters).

What is the largest whale in the sea?

Antarctic blue whale
The Antarctic blue whale (Balaenoptera musculus ssp. Intermedia) is the biggest animal on the planet, weighing up to 400,000 pounds (approximately 33 elephants) and reaching up to 98 feet in length.

Which whale is a fish?

She serves as the executive director of the Blue Ocean Society for Marine Conservation. Whales are a member of the cetacean family, and as such, despite being wholly water-resident, whales are mammals, not fish.

Which whale is the biggest?

Blue whaleWhales / Biggest

Are dolphins marine mammals?

Dolphins and porpoises are at the top of the food chain and play an important role in the overall balance of the marine environment. They belong to a group of marine mammals called cetaceans. Marine mammals in the cetacean family include whales, dolphins, and porpoises.

Is a polar bear a marine mammal?

1. Polar bears are classified as marine mammals. Because they spend most of their lives on the sea ice of the Arctic Ocean depending on the ocean for their food and habitat, polar bears are the only bear species to be considered marine mammals.

How are whales mammals?

Whales are mammals which means that, like humans and other land mammals, they have three inner ear bones and hair, they breathe air, and the females produce milk through mammary glands and suckle their young.

What makes a marine mammal a marine mammal?

Marine mammals share several common characteristics among all mammals, such as the need to breathe air, being warm-blooded, having mammary glands that produce milk to feed their young, giving birth to live young (pregnancy/gestation periods) and in some cases having hair.

What is the world’s largest whale?

flickr/noaaphotolib. The blue whale is not just the largest whale species, it is also the largest known animal in the world. Blue whales can grow to be 98 feet (30 meters) in length, but they have been known to weigh upwards of 173 tons. Like the name suggests, blue whales are a dark blue color with a paler underside.

What is the length of a right whale?

Right Whale (60 feet / 18.3 meters) The right whale is actually a collection of three very similar whale species: The North Atlantic right whale, the Southern right whale and the North Pacific right whale. Each of these whales is characterized by their round bodies, blowholes in the shape of a V and very dark skin.

What is the gray whale’s name?

The gray whale goes by many names, including the Pacific gray whale and the California gray whales. As these monikers suggest, the whale is both gray and a resident of the coastal waters of California. While they did live in the North Atlantic until the 18th century, whaling has eliminated them in this part of the world altogether.

How much does a whale weigh?

An average gray whale can grow to become 36 tons, with a few outliers coming in even heavier. 7Sei Whale (52 feet / 16 meters) The sei whale is another baleen whale, but it can grow to become much larger than the minke whale. A sei whale can easily surpass 50 feet in length by maturity and weigh as much as 28 tons.