How NFL divisions should be aligned?

How NFL divisions should be aligned?

I found the simplest way is to simply combine each current AFC division with its counterpart in the NFC. The East, North, South, and West divisions merge into separate conferences. This preserves all division rivalries. It also will help to grow other rivalries.

What year did the NFL realign the divisions?

The 2002 NFL season was the 83rd regular season of the National Football League. The league went back to an even number of teams, expanding to 32 teams with the addition of the Houston Texans; the league has remained static with 32 teams since. The clubs were then realigned into eight divisions, four teams in each.

How are NFL conferences determined?

The NFL Structure Each conference is further broken down into 4 divisions: East, North, South, and West. Each division has 4 teams, who play each other twice a year, in one home game and one away game. These intra-division teams have some of the biggest rivalries, because they play each other so regularly.

When was the last NFL division realignment?

The last time the NFL underwent a Division realignment was in 2002. The only reason behind this realignment was because the Houston Texans entered the NFL as an expansion team. Before 2002, there were three divisions in the AFC and three divisions in the NFC.

Do NFL divisions change?

There are the two conferences – AFC and NFC – and that hasn’t changed – but back in the day, each conference had THREE divisions: East, West and Central. This proved to be somewhat tricky because all divisions had 5 teams except the AFC Central that actually had 6 teams! (There were 31 teams in the NFL at that time.)

How are NFL divisions divided?

The league’s 32 teams are split into two conferences — the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC). The 16 teams in each conference are split into the East, North, South and West divisions; every division has four teams.

What were the original NFL divisions?

Full Site Menu

  • AFC North: Bengals, Steelers, Browns, Ravens.
  • NFC East: Cowboys, Eagles, Football Team, Giants.
  • NFC South: Buccaneers, Saints, Falcons, Panthers.
  • NFC West: Rams, Cardinals, 49ers, Seahawks.

Is the AFC or NFC better?

In the end, the NFC is the better conference, as they have won three of the last four Super Bowls, and with two of those wins coming over Tom Brady and Peyton Manning, it’s clear the NFC can match anything the AFC has to offer.