How many appellations are there in Napa Valley?

How many appellations are there in Napa Valley?

16 Diverse AVAs Within the Napa Valley AVA, regions have been recognized that possess distinct microclimates and terrain that imprint recognizable characteristics on the grapes grown there. These AVAs are commonly referred to as sub- or nested-appellations.

What AVA is shared between Napa and Sonoma?

Los Carneros AVA
The Los Carneros AVA, established in 1983, actually straddles land in both Napa and Sonoma Valleys, making it the first California wine region to be defined by its unique climate as opposed to political boundaries.

How many AVAs are in Sonoma?

– Sonoma County stretches from the Pacific Coast in the west to the Mayacamas Mountains in the east, and is home to almost 60,000 acres of vineyards and more than 425 wineries. Within the borders are 18 American Viticultural Areas (AVAs, or appellations), each with its own distinctive characteristics.

Who planted the first grapes in Napa?

George C. Yount
Early years. Early pioneer and settler George C. Yount is generally credited to have been the first to grow grapes in the Napa Valley. In 1864, on the marriage of one of his granddaughters to Thomas Rutherford, Yount gave the couple around 1,000 acres (4 km2) of land, which Rutherford dedicated to winemaking.

What is the elevation in Napa?

20′Napa / Elevation

How many AVAs Does Sonoma County have?

When did Sonoma County become an AVA?

The birthplace of the California’s commercial wine industry in the 1850s, Sonoma Valley won official American Viticulture Area status (AVA or appellation) in 1981. It comprises 10,249 acres of vineyards, and is home to more than 80 wineries and tasting rooms.

How many AVAs did Willamette Valley have?

Sub-appellations. There are nine American Viticultural Areas within the Willamette Valley AVA.

Which two California counties have the most Syrah grapes planted?

Vines were replanted, but substantial acreage did not appear in California until the 1990s. Most of the state’s Syrah acreage is located in San Luis Obispo County, San Joaquin County and Madera.

Where is the Carneros wine region?

Los Carneros AVA (also known as Carneros AVA) is an American Viticultural Area which includes parts of both Sonoma and Napa counties in California, U.S.A. It is located north of San Pablo Bay.

How many AVAs are in the Napa Valley?

Within the Napa Valley AVA exist 16 nested AVAs, including: Atlas Peak, Calistoga, Chiles Valley, Coombsville, Diamond Mountain District, Howell Mountain, Los Carneros, Mt. Veeder, Oak Knoll District of Napa Valley, Oakville, Rutherford, St. Helena, Spring Mountain District, Stags Leap District, Yountville and Wild Horse Valley.

How many sub-appellations are in Napa Valley?

This has resulted in the designation of 16 separate sub-appellations within the Napa Valley that recognize and celebrate the viticultural diversity of the region. Here is a rundown of all 16. Established in the early 1990s, this cool, high elevation AVA on the western slopes of the Vaca Mountain Range is the most prominent peak in Napa.

How many miles is Napa Valley?

Click Here. Though only 30 miles long and five miles across at its widest point, don’t let Napa Valley’s size fool you; Napa Valley is home to 16 distinct sub-appellations, each with unique microclimates, soil types, and grapes planted. Download our map to better understand the region, then read our introduction to Napa Valley AVAs

What is a Napa Valley wine?

The Napa Valley is what is commonly referred to as a wine appellation. In the United States, the legal term is American Viticultural Area, or AVA, and Napa Valley was the first in California, designated in 1981.